The decision was taken on Tuesday night after Union Ministers and MPs from Seemandhra region lodged their protest with AK Antony committee over the government announcing its intent to fast forward its move for creation of a separate Telangana.
Other members of the Committee are Union Minister Veerappa Moily, AICC general secretary Digvijay Singh and Congress president Sonia Gandhi's political secretary Ahmed Patel.
Party MP Lagdapati Rajagopal, who was a part of the delegation which met the Antony committee on Tuesday night said that they requested the panel to visit the state and see the unrest in the Seemandhra region over the decision to create Telangana state.
The delegation which also included Union ministers M Pallam Raju, Panabaka Lakshmi, JD Seelam and D Purandeswari also told the committee that an all-party committee should be set up to evolve a consensus on the decision as otherwise Congress alone is getting the blame for the bifurcation of the state, sources said.
Rajagopal said that all Seemandhra MPs and ministers made it clear that they are for a united Andhra Pradesh and there is a feeling amongst the people that Congress is settling down for Telangana due to ‘political expediency’ eyeing electoral gains.
In the meeting, Seemandhra leaders also expressed their displeasure over Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde's recent statement that a note for initiating the process of carving out Telangana, would be presented before the Union Cabinet in the next 20 days.


Latest News from State News Desk