There was close competition between Congress' Faqir Mohmad Khan and NC's Nazir Ahmad Khan, both prominent Gujjar leaders, in Gurez constituency.

In Sonawari, Lone was leading by over 1,100 votes against PDP's Yasir Reshi who got 21,306 votes, said the trends as the counting of votes continued.

Lone, also a minister in the last government, has won last Assembly elections from this seat.

In Bandipore, PDP's Nizamudin Bhat was leading by over 1,400 votes against Congress' Majid who had got 8,684 votes so far. Nizamuddin Bhat had won from the constituency in the last polls.

Faqir Mohmad Khan was leading by about 50 votes against Nazir Ahmad Khan in Gurez constituency. Nazir, who was elected from this constituency in the last elections, has secured 6,210 votes as the counting of votes continues in the 87-Assembly.
These three constituencies fall under Bandipore district in the Valley.

Latest News from Jammu and Kashmir News Desk