Greater Noida: Akhil Khushlani was the best placed Indian for the final rounds of the the JK Racing Asia Series 2012 with third place on the grid while South African Aston Hare clinched the pole as Sidwin Speed Festival began at the Buddh International circuit on Friday.
 Championship leader Nabil Jeffri will share the front row with Hare, who recorded a best lap time of 1:59.369 in lap 10. Jeffri finished 0.461 seconds behind.
34 points separate Hare and Jeffri with last four races left in the season. Aditya Patel set a time of 2:00.656 to be sixth fastest.
 "I am pretty much okay with the results but I am still six tenths off Aston’s pace. We are going to sit down to have a look at the data and try to find the time for tomorrow's race," Khushlani
Patel said, "I am not too sure where I lost my time; I will have to go through the data to see because I am slower today than in practice, when I should be quicker. Anyway, qualifying is done so it’s just the races now."

Meanwhile, in the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship, Sarosh Hataria, who is in second place in championship standings, secured pole for the LGB Formula 4 category with a lap time of 2:27.297.
The Chennai racer was 0.382 seconds faster than Saran Vikram of Mars Racing.
In the third place was S Narendran (WSRF), who put in a timing of 2:27.851 in the 5140-meter circuit that is proving to be a treat to the drivers.
In the popular Indian Touring Cars category, racing veteran N Leelakrishnan took pole with a blistering 2:27:585, showing that he still is among the best in the league.
Behind him and a good 1.697 seconds behind was Motorev India's B Balavijay (2:29.282). Talented rally driver Sunny Siddhu finished third with a timing of 2:30.984.
In the Indian Junior Touring Cars category, the stage is set for the Mumbai based Fahad Kutty (Team GameOver), who set the fastest time (2:44.854), and S Feroze Khan (2:45.526) to compete for the grand prize in what promises to be a thrilling weekend of motorsport.
S Sreeram (Mega Racing Beema Sports) finished third while Diljith TS (Eram Group Sports Club) came in fourth.


Latest News from Sports News Desk