Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and 12 other candidates are set to be elected to the Legislative Council unopposed as only 13 nominations were filed for an equal number of seats till Monday, the last day of filing nominations for the binnieal elections. While eight candidates, including Akhilesh, have filed nomination as SP nominees, BSP has fielded three, BJP and Congress-RLD alliance one.

Besides Akhilesh, cabinet minister Ambika Chaudhary, Madhu Gupta, Naresh Chand Uttam, Ram Sakal Gurjar, Vijay Yadav, Rajendra Chaudhary and Amer Ali Khan have filed their nominations as SP candidates. Ambika Chaudhary, who is Revenue Minister in Akhilesh's cabinet, had unsuccessfully contested the assembly elections from Phephna seat in Ballia district.

Omer Ali Khan, who is the son-in-law of Shahi Imam of Delhi's Jama Masjid Maulana Ahmad Bukhari, too had contested the assembly election from Behat seat in Saharanpur but he too lost.

BSP has fielded Thakur Jaiveer Singh, Sunil Kumar and Vijay Pratap, whereas Mahendra Singh filed his nomination as BJP candidate.

RLD, which has an alliance with Congress, fielded Chaudhary Mustaq who also filed his nomination on Monday.