Jammu: A day after seven Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislators voted for the ruling National Conference-Congress alliance candidates in the Jammu and Kashmir legislative council elections, all eleven BJP legislators resigned from the assembly on Thursday.

The party activists and some leaders staged a protest against the incident, forcing the national president to seek resignation from all eleven MLAs of the party.

BJP leader Ramesh Arora had threatened to fast unto death if the legislators were not brought to task. In the election to six upper house seats on Wednesday, the BJP candidate from Jammu Thakur Ranjit Singh got just four votes out of 11 as cross voting by 7 BJP MLAs led to the victory of the ruling party candidate.

The act received condemnation from various party leaders forcing chief whip Ashok Khajuria and deputy whip Jugal Kishor to resign.
The BJP national leader and in-charge Jammu and Kashmir BJP, O P Kohli, co-in-charge R P Singh and National General Secretary J P Nadda rushed to Jammu to convene a meeting of the party MLAs. All MLAs were asked to resign from the legislative assembly.