"All 21 cabinet and state rank ministers including Gujarat Chief Minister (Anandiben Patel) are going to attend the swearing-in ceremony of the country's next prime minister
Narendra Modi," Gujarat government spokesperson and minister Saurabh Patel said.
Patel, who holds key portfolios of finance and petrochemicals, also said that office bearers of Gujarat's BJP unit would attend the swearing-in ceremony to be held in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhawan in Delhi.
BJP's media convener Harshad Patel said that Gujarat state ministers would be accompanied by state office bearers and district presidents of the BJP. The total head count may reach up to 50.
Gujarat government's cabinet rank ministers like Nitin Patel, Raman Vora, Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, Saurabh Patel, Ganpat Vasava and Babu Bokharia will attend the ceremony of the country's next prime minister.
However, Narendra Modi's family has decided to watch the swearing-in ceremony on television, rather than to go to the Rashtrapati Bhawan.
"None of us (family members) are going to attend the swearing-in ceremony. We have decided to watch him (Narendra Modi) taking oath as prime minister on TV," Modi's younger brother Prahlad Modi said.
A tea vendor, Kiran Mahida, who proposed Narendra Modi's name when the latter filed his nomination papers from Vadodara Lok Sabha seat, is likely to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Apart from Mahida, a member of Vadodara's royal family Shubhanginidevi Raje-Gaekwad, who had also signed Narendra Modi's nomination papers as a proposer, is expected to attend the ceremony.
The swearing-in ceremony of the 15th Prime Minister of India would be attended by nearly 3,000 guests, including top leaders from SAARC countries like Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa.
President Pranab Mukherjee would administer the oath of office and secrecy to 63-year-old Modi and his council of ministers, in the presence of a host of leaders, including outgoing prime minister Manmohan Singh, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, besides leaders of various other parties and chief ministers.
Besides Sharif and Rajapaksa, Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai, Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala and Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom will be among foreign dignitaries attending the swearing-in ceremony.


Latest News from India News Desk