Chennai: Mahendra Singh Dhoni led the way with a typically aggressive half-century to power Chennai Super Kings to a 33-run win over Delhi Daredevils on Tuesday and brighten their prospects of securing a top-two finish ahead of the play-offs of the Pepsi Indian Premier League.


Batting first, Chennai rode on Dhoni's 35-ball unbeaten 58 to post a competitive 168 for four. Albie Morkel (3/32) then spearheaded a disciplined bowling effort to restrict Delhi to 135 for nine at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.
Mohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin and Dwayne Bravo picked up two wickets each as CSK grabbed the top spot again.
Dhoni smashed two fours and four sixes during his whirlwind knock and added 57 runs for the fourth wicket with Ravindra Jadeja. The captain was also involved in an unbroken 37-run stand with Bravo, which came off just three overs.
In reply, Delhi were off to disastrous start as they lost the dangerous Virender Sehwag to Sharma off only the second ball of the innings.
It was a short, wide delivery and Sehwag went for the cut only to get a thin edge through to the wicketkeeper.     

There was a surprise at the top of Delhi batting order, with stand-in skipper David Warner (44) sending Johan Botha ahead of him.
Unmukt Chand and Botha added 34 runs for the second wicket, before the Delhi player was done in by a slower ball from Sharma. Chand had hit two fours and a six before attempting a slog-sweep that led to his dismissal.
Earlier, Dhoni whacked Ashish Nehra for 18 runs in CSK innings' penultimate over but the last over, bowled by Umesh Yadav (2/26), proved to be a good one for Delhi as he conceded just eight runs.
Danger man, Suresh Raina, soon made his way back to the pavilion after driving Roelof van der Merwe straight to stand-in skipper David Warner at extra cover.
CSK however could take comfort from the fact that Dhoni was still there in the middle. And he didn't disappoint his fans as he played a few lofty blows to prop up the home side's run rate towrads the end.

Chennai Super Kings: M S Dhoni (c), Mike Hussey, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Subramaniam Badrinath, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, R Ashwin, Jason Holder and Mohit Sharma.
Delhi Daredevils: David Warner (c), Virender Sehwag, Unmukt Chand, Ben Rohrer, Johan Botha, Kedar Jadhav, Irfan Pathan, Roelof van der Merwe, Siddharth Kaul, Umesh Yadav and Ashish Nehra.


Latest News from Sports News Desk