Amar Singh, accompanied by a small group of his supporters, filed his nomination papers at the district collectorate in Agra, his media in-charge Brijesh Mahaur said.
Three of his rival candidates - Chaudhri Babulal of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Pakshalika Singh of Samajwadi Party (SP) and Seema Upadhyay of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) - also filed their nominations from the seat.
Amar Singh, a former confidant of SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav, was expelled from the party in 2010. He joined the Ajit Singh-led RLD, an ally of Congress, last month along with Rampur MP Jaya Prada.
From Agra Lok Sabha seat, a total of nine candidates filed their nomination papers on Friday. Prominent among them are sitting MP and BJP candidate Ram Shankar Katheria, Maharaj Singh Dhangar of SP and Upendra Singh of Congress.
Meanwhile, a case has been filed against BSP candidate for Agra Lok Sabha seat Narayan Singh for violation of the Model Code of Conduct, Additional District Magistrate PP Pal said.


Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk