Amar Singh is most likely to be fielded from Fatehpur Sikri general seat while Jayaprada may get Bijnaur.

For the Fatehpur Sikri seat, the Samajwadi Party has fielded Pakshlika Singh, wife of Uttar Pradesh cabinet minister Aridaman Singh, the Bahujan Samaj Party Seema Upadhyaya, wife of BSP leader Ramvir Upadhyaya, said to be close to BSP supremo Mayawati. 

Upadhyaya is the sitting MP from Fatehpur Sikri . She defeated Raj Babbar of the Congress. Babbar however defeated Dimple Yadav, wife of the chief minister Akhilesh Yadav, from Firozabad in a byelection. 

The Bhartiya Janata Party is still to make up its mind, though names doing round are of Gen VK Singh, former Indian Army chief, actor Sunny Deol, Babu Lal Choudhary, Keshav Dixit. With the entry of Amar Singh, the party will need to field a heavyweight, say party workers.


Latest News from State News Desk