Veteran actress Asha Parekh, on the other hand, walked away with Lifetime Achievement award. The star-studded award ceremony, held on Sunday, was co-hosted by filmmaker Karan Johar and actor Riteish Deshmukh along with "Cocktail" star Saif Ali Khan.

"Queen" and "Highway" dominated the winners' list of searchlight awards (small budget, big concept). "Queen" received best actress (Kangana Ranaut), best film, and Vikas Bahl shared best director award with Imtiaz Ali, who helmed "Highway".

Randeep Hooda won the best actor – male award for his movie ''Highway'', while his co-star Alia Bhatt got the superstar of tomorrow - female trophy.

Under the achievers of the year (rulers of box office 2014) category, the film of the year went to "Happy New Year".

Its director Farah Khan won the dream director award, while the movie's star  Shah Rukh Khan was honoured with best actor - thriller/action trophy. He also walked home with star of the year - male award.

The blockbuster's lead actress Deepika Padukone won the star of the year - female award.

Latest news from Entertainment News Desk