Hyderabad: Monsoon session of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly got off to a noisy start as Opposition parties stalled the House as soon as it began this morning.

The principal Opposition Telugu Desam Party legislators stormed the Speaker's podium protesting the "unprecedented power cuts" in the state while Telangana Rashtra Samiti MLAs too were in the Well demanding that the House adopt a resolution seeking bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

The YSR Congress, which is now the third largest party with 17 MLAs, too joined the protest but on the fee reimbursement issue. YSRC members were on their feet in the front row but did not go into the Well.

Three BJP legislators and two independent MLAs were also on their feet demanding a resolution on Telangana statehood issue.

The TDP members displayed lanterns highlighting the grave power crisis gripping the state.

Speaker Nadendla Manohar said a short-duration discussion on power situation was listed on the day's agenda and appealed to the TDP MLAs to return to their seats.

However, the slogan-shouting Opposition MLAs did not relent and the din continued.

The Speaker then adjourned the proceedings till 10 AM. Earlier, TDP president and Leader of Opposition N Chandrababu Naidu led his party legislators on a foot march from Tank Bund to Assembly protesting the power cuts in the state.


Latest News from States News Desk