Congress MPs L Rajagopal (Vijayawada), V Arun Kumar (Rajahmundry) and Sai Prathap (Rajampeta) submitted their resignations to Lok Sabha secretary general to protest the Central Government's decision to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh by carving out separate Telangana state.

The speaker had on Friday rejected the resignations of 13 MPs from Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra). They included 10 of the Congress, two of YSR Congress Party and one of Telugu Desam Party.

Rajagopal, who recently moved the Delhi High Court seeking a direction to the Speaker to accept his resignation, told reporters that he would personally meet the Speaker on Tuesday to urge her to accept his resignation.

"I would like to personally meet her and convey that there is no pressure on me and I have taken this decision on my own and with full consciousness," he said.

Three MPs went ahead with their decision to submit the resignations despite Congress general secretary Digvijaya Singh appealing to them to reconsider their decision.


Latest News from State News Desk