The Telugu Desam Party on Thursday declared Dr A S Ramakrishna as its candidate for the election.

Ramakrishna, who runs educational institutions in Guntur, had unsuccessfully contested the last Teachers' constituency election as an Independent.

The CPI(M) has renominated its sitting MLC K S Lakshmana Rao for the poll.

Rao on Friday said that he has mobilised funds to the tune of Rs 100 crore for the improvement of infrastructure in elementary schools of the constituency.

As per the schedule announced by the Election Commission, polling will be held on March 16 and the counting of votes will be done on March 19.

The notification for the election will be issued on February 19. The last date for filing of nominations is February 26. The nominations can be withdrawn till March 2.

Latest News from State News Desk