These checkposts would also be useful to assess the quantum and value of commodities passed between the states, and commercial taxes revenue that can be generated, Minister for Finance, Planning, Commercial Taxes and Legislative Affairs, Yanamala Ramakrishnudu said.
These temporary checkposts would be opened near Kurnool, Sunnipenta, Macherla, Dachepalli, Garikapadu, Thiruvur, Jeedugumalli and Kondapalli.
In addition, the Minister said, minor roads that link the two states would be manned by squads and vigilance wings of the Commercial Tax department to stop trade diversions and pilferage of taxes.
Ramakrishnudu said the temporary checkposts would be primarily for a period of six months.
"Staff will be deployed from the existing personnel of the department. Based on the performance of these checkposts, arrangements will be made to establish permanent ones with all facilities," he added.


Latest News from State News Desk