The all-out female buddy film boasts of a line-up that includes Sandhya Mridul, Tannishtha Chatterjee, Sarah-Jane Dias, Anushka Manchanda, Amrit Maghera, Rajshri Deshpande and Pavleen Gujral.

"Ok so @AIGtheFilm just won first runners up GROLSCH PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD at #TIFF 2015," Sandhya Mridul tweeted on Sunday.

This year marked the 38th year that Toronto audiences were able to cast a ballot for their favourite festival film for the Grolsch People's Choice Award.

This year's award went to Lenny Abrahamson for "Room", read the fest's official site. The first runner-up is "Angry Indian Goddesses" and the second runner up is Tom McCarthy's "Spotlight".

Sarah-Jane also took to Twitter to express her excitement at winning. "And then this happened...WE WON!!! Grolsch People's Choice Award 1st Runners Up!!! Congratulations," she posted on the micro-blogging site.


Latest news from Entertainment News Desk