Bangkok: Anirban Lahiri of India earned his Major debut at British Open after shooting a final round five-under-par 67 at the International Final Qualifying on Friday.

Lahiri, winner of the SAIL-SBI Open in India last week, led the trio of Prayad Marksaeng, who shot the best round of 64, Kodai Ichihara of Japan and Mardan Mamat of Singapore, who sealed the fourth and final ticket after winning in a three-way play-off against compatriot Lam Chih Bing and Jonathan Moore of the United States.

Play was suspended for two-and-a-half hours due to the threat of lightning at the Amata Spring Country Club in Chonburi.

"It has been a childhood dream of mine. It feels really nice," said Lahiri, who posted a nine-under-par 135.

Prayad bounced back from an opening 73 courtesy of a new driver and some hot putting where he sank a monster 50-foot birdie putt from the edge of the eighth green. He will be making his fifth appearance in The Open, the Asian Tour said in a press release.

"It feels great to qualify for The Open again and this time, I'll be aiming to make the cut for the first time in my career," said Prayad.

Ichihara battled into third place with a flawless 69.

Mardan had an agonising three-hour wait before playing in the play-off which he won with a tricky 12-foot birdie putt on the par four 18th.

Mardan closed with a 69 to tie in regulation play with Lam and Moore on 140.

"It has been a sensational few weeks for me. I can't believe I made it to The Open," said Mardan.

The Open will be played at Royal Lytham St Annes from July 19 to 22.

Leading scores after round two of the IFQ Asia at the par 72 Amata Spring course (a- denotes amateur):

135 - Anirban Lahiri (IND) 68-67

137 - Prayad Marksaeng (THA) 73-64

138 - Kodai Ichihara (JPN) 69-69

140 - Lam Chih Bing (SIN) 71-69, Mardan Mamat (SIN) 71-69, Jonathan Moore (USA) 68-72

141 - Arnond Vongvanij (THA) 72-69, Scott Hend (AUS) 71-70, Prom Meesawat (THA) 71-70

142 - Guido van der Valk (NED) 73-69, Javi Colomo (ESP) 74-68, Kunal Bhasin (AUS) 70-72, Chapchai Nirat (THA) 70-72, Hideki Matsuyama (am, JPN) 69-73