Dehradun: With only a month left for the declaration of the election results, the Congress stalwarts in Uttarakhand are making concerted efforts for the chief ministerial position. Going by the poll calculations and taking note of the conventional voting pattern in the state, the Congress leaders are full of confidence which has intensified the race for the CM’s post.

Ministers holding important stature in the state politics have geared up to set an equation for the chief ministerial position. Despite major role being played by the party high command in the selection of the candidates, Congress leaders are going hammer and tongs to get themselves nominated for the CM’s post.

If the Congress becomes the ruling dispensation in Uttarakhand, the leaders who will remain in race for CM’s posts are- Union Cabinet Minister and MP from Haridwar Harish Rawat, MP from Garhwal Satpal Mahraj, Tihri MP Vijay Bahugana , party’s state president Yashpal Arya and Leader of the Opposition in state assembly Dr Harak Singh Rawat.

Though the BJP has projected BC Khanduri as the Chief Ministerial candidate, the Congress has not yet declared its candidate. It is due to this reason the Congress leaders are making every possible effort to get them noticeable for the CM position. This has lead to cropping of new relations between the leaders and cracks in old terms.