Aizawl district SP Lalhuliana Fanai said the polling in all the 19 polling stations was completely peaceful. Election officials said the polling was smooth in all the polling stations and only one or two electronic voting machines (EVMs) and Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines needing replacement.
An estimated 61.98 percent voters of the total electorate of 17,582 voted, SEC said. The voters decided the political fortunes of Lal Thanzara of the ruling Congress, K. Vanlalvena of the Mizo National front (MNF) and Lalduhawma of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), pre-poll alliance of the Zoram Nationalist party (ZNP) and the BJP.
Counting of votes would be conducted on Tuesday next.    By-poll in the constituency was necessitated by the resignation of former health minister and the present Congress nominee Lal Thanzara on August 18 last due to allegations of conflict of interests in news reports and by the opposition parties.