The polling, which began at 8 AM amid tight security, was moderate in the early hours. It however, increased as the day progressed, Election Commission officials said.
The voting remained peaceful without any incident of violence, Deputy Chief Electoral Officer D J Bhattacharjee said.
The percentage of voting was likely to increase as reports from several interior polling stations was awaited, he said.
There were 11,640 electorates including 6,020 female voters in the constituency and Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were used in all the 54 polling booths.
Altogether, five candidates including Nyamar Karbak of the Congress, BJP nominee Bai Gadi and three independents - Lijum Ronya, Johny Tali and Raksap Yomcha were in the fray.
The EC had appointed Aldous Mowlang as election observer along with micro observers to oversee the polling process. Counting of votes would be held on February 16.
The by-election was necessitated following the death of former Chief Minister Jarbom Gamlin on November 30 last year. Gamlin had who won the seat thrice in a row.

Latest News from State News Desk