Up in arms against Congress Chief Minister Nabam Tuki for the last three months, 21 rebel party MLAs, including 14 disqualified on Tuesday, with the help of BJP and independent legislators, congregated at a community hall after the state Assembly complex was 'sealed' by the local administration, and 'impeached' Rebia in an impromptu session chaired by Deputy Speaker T Norbu Thongdok.
27 MLAs in 60-member Assembly, including the Chief Minister and his ministerial colleagues, boycotted the proceedings. After the impeachment motion had been moved by Leader of the Opposition Tamiyo Taga of BJP, Thongdok called out the name of Rebia to enable him offer clarifications, if any, on the impeachment notice but the Speaker was not present.
The resolution was then put to vote and was supported by 20 dissident Congress MLAs, barring the Deputy Speaker who did not vote, 11 of BJP and two independents. All 33 of them also put their signature of consent on the resolution, which was then declared passed.

Latest News from State News Desk