A Magsaysay award winner, 45-year-old Kejriwal and six other AAP MLAs will be sworn-in in a public ceremony at 12 PM to which Anna Hazare, Kiran Bedi, Santosh Hegde and all those associated with the anti-corruption movement will be invited.

Kejriwal promises to bring Jan Lokpal Bill within 15 days

The date for the swearing-in ceremony was finalised at a meeting Kejriwal held with Chief Secretary D M Spolia.
The cabinet ministers to take oath along with Kejriwal are Manish Sisodia, Rakhi Birla, Somnath Bharti, Saurabh Bhardwaj, Girish Soni and Satendra Jain.
Born in Haryana and a resident of Kausambi in nearby Ghaziabad district of Uttar Pradesh, the IIT-Kharagpur graduate in Mechanical Engineering, had defeated three-time Chief Minister Shiela Dikshit in New Delhi constituency by a huge margin of over 25,000 votes.
Earlier, talking to media, Kejriwal denied having any rift within the party on the issue of cabinet berths.
Kejriwal asserted that AAP has not firmed up an alliance with Congress as the support given by it was based on its 18-point agenda. There has been dissenting voices in Congress over support to AAP.
He indicated that a number of announcements will be made on fulfilling key promises of the party like cutting power tariff and ordering auditing of the private power distribution companies immediately after assuming charge.
A day after Laxmi Nagar MLA Binny, a ministerial aspirant, walked out of a meeting at Kejriwal's house after coming to know that he was not among the probable ministers, Kejriwal said the legislator was not interested in a ministerial berth.
"Binny came to me last evening. He told me he does not want a ministerial berth and that he was here for a mission. Binny said he has conveyed to the media that he was not upset," said Kejriwal.
Binny, on his part, stated that he was not angry and that there was no rift in the party. "There is no rift between me and the party. There is nothing that I was angry about after being denied a post in the ministry," he said.
Kejriwal had met Lt Governor Najeeb Jung on Monday and handed over him a letter staking claim to form government with outside support from the Congress.
Following this, Jung had sent a proposal to President Pranab Mukherjee detailing AAP's stake to form the government. The President approved the proposal on Tuesday and left it to the Lt Governor to finalise the date for swearing-in ceremony in consultation with the Chief Minister-designate.
A press release issued by Delhi Government said the President has directed that Kejriwal be asked to prove his majority on the floor of the House within seven days from the date on which he takes oath of office.
"The President of India has been pleased to appoint Arvind Kejriwal, Leader of the Aam Aadmi Legislature Party as Chief Minister of the National Capital Territory of Delhi with effect from the date he is sworn in," it said.
It said the President has also appointed Sisodia, Bharti, Jain, Birla, Soni and Bhardwaj to be the Ministers with effect from the date they are sworn in.
One-year-old AAP had made an electrifying debut in elections winning 28 seats in the 70-member Assembly and decimating Congress which bagged only eight seats. The BJP, along with its ally SAD's one seat, had 32 MLAs but the party declined to form the government, citing lack of majority.
Kejriwal said he was working on portfolios to be given to six MLAs whose names were recommended to Lt Governor to be included in his cabinet.
He said auditing of private power distribution companies, and supply of 700 liters of water free to all homes are the focus areas.
"We will work on the supply of water within 24 hours. Every colony has its own problems. We are also working on the reduction in power tariff," he said.

Arvind Kejriwal to head youngest Cabinet comprising first-time MLAs

Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia, Somnath Bharti, Girish Soni, Saurabh Bhardwaj, Satyendra Jain and Rakhi Birla

From 26-year-old Rakhi Birla to 41-year-old Manish Sisodia, the soon-to-be Delhi Cabinet is not just going to be the youngest ever but also probably the first in which all members, including the Chief Minister, are debutant MLAs.
At an age when most youngsters struggle to find their feet in their career, Birla will not just be the youngest minister in Kejriwal's cabinet, but also its only woman face.
Manish Sisodia, a trusted aide of Kejriwal, came to prominence during Anna Hazare's movement for Janlokpal Bill in 2011. The 41-year-old journalist turned-activist-turned- politician defeated BJP's Nakul Bhardwaj by over 11,000 votes from Patparganj constituency in East Delhi.

Somnath Bharti, another IITian in Kejriwal’s cabinet, is an MLA from Malviya Nagar. He holds a Master's degree from IIT, Delhi, and a degree in law. The 39-year-old defeated BJP's Arti Mehra and another Delhi government minister Kiran Walia.

Girish Soni, an MLA from Madipur, had participated in Bijli-Pani agitation of the Aam Aadmi Party and motivated people to join the agitation. He was associated with Bharat Naujawan Sabha in 1980. He was the general secretary of the party in Madipur.

Saurabh Bhardwaj, an engineering graduate who had also studied law, is another face in Kejriwal's team. The 34-year-old defeated Ajay Kumar Malhotra, son of veteran BJP leader V K Malhotra, by a margin of around 13,000 votes from Greater Kailash constituency.
Satyendra Jain, MLA from Shakur Basti (North), will also be inducted as a minister. He is an architect by profession. Satyendra used to work in CPWD but fed up with the level of corruption in the department, he quit his job and started providing architecture consultancy. He actively joined during the Jan Lokpal movement and then joined AAP when the political party came into being.

Rakhi Birla had emerged as a giant killer after thumping four-time MLA and PWD Minister Raj Kumar Chauhan in the Sheila Dikshit government in Mangolpuri by around 10,500 votes. Before joining AAP, Birla had worked with a private news channel. She had also been working in collaboration with social organisations for the causes of Valmiki community. Birla hails from Valmiki community and her father was associated with Congress for a long time but quit the party in 2011 during the Janlokpal movement.


Latest News from India News Desk