The fifth and final round of the Indian National Rally Championship for Bikes (2w) was revived this year after a break of five years and the first four rounds were held at Nashik, Coimbatore, Hyderabad and Chikkamagluru, Bhaskar Gupta, Clerk of the Course, said.
The rally has one special stage of 18 kms, named Torque, and it will be run thrice in the same direction on December 20, he said.
Recce and scrutiny will be the day before. "It is a great combination of dirt and gravel and about
two-thirds of the stage is tarmac. All the safety arrangements are in place and we have provided free accommodation and food to make the event hassle-free for the riders," Gupta said.
About 40 bikes are in the fray for national round organised by Karnataka Motor Sports Club (KMSC), he said. Bikes of all makes including Yamaha, KTM, Mahindra, Hero and Honda will be entering the fray, he added.
For the first time scooters are being introduced in the National championship, Gupta said. Eight classes will be run for the National championship including Group A. Group B four-stroke has sub-categories of upto 130 cc (M1), 131 to 165 cc (M2), 166 to 260 cc (M3 & M4), 261 to 500 cc (M5), Praneeth Perumal of KMSC said.
Besides there are two classes for scooters (upto 160cc) and one-make Royal Enfield. A separate local class `Star of Karnataka', will be held to encourage riders from Karnataka, he said.

Latest News from Sports News Desk