The Sunil Chhetri-led team, which also has two other senior players in Robin Singh and Francis Fernandes as per the rules, will play Shanghai East Asia and Jiangsu Sainty of the Chinese Super League on August 29 and September 6.

Both Shanghai East Asia and Jiangsu Sainty are currently placed fourth and seventh respectively in the Chinese League standings.

Football competition of Asian Games begins on September 14 while action in other sports starts on September 20.

The Indian team, which will leave for Incheon on September 9, is in Group G alongwith UAE and Jordan. Two teams from the group will advance to the round of 16.

A total of 29 teams are taking part in the football event of the Games.

India won a gold medal twice - in 1951 and 1962 - and a bronze in 1970. India reached the pre-quarterfinals last time in 2010 Asian Games in Guangzhou, China.

Latest News from Sports News Desk