JFA president Rupam Barua and secretary N Thakuria said that the national flag does not belong to the government machinery alone but to the countrymen and should be hoisted by all to commemorate the occasion.
"Every Indian should celebrate Independence Day and also Republic Day to pay their tribute to the known and unknown martyrs of India's freedom struggle for their supreme sacrifices," they said.
Besides, many martyrs of Assam including Kanaklata, Kushal Konwar, Tilak Deka, Bhogeswari Phukanani, Nidhanu Rajbangshi, Kamala Miri, Lerela Boro, Madan Rauta, Hemoram Patar, Gunabhi Bordoloi had laid down their lives for the honour of the tricolor.
The forum also appealed to the city-based media persons and citizens to join in the celebrations of India's 67th Independence Day in Guwahati Press Club premises on August 15 where the National flag will be unfurled at 11:00 am.
A group of separatist outfits of the northeast, including anti-talk Paresh Baruah faction of ULFA (Independent), have called their customary boycott and general strike on Independence Day in the region from 1:30 am to 5:30 pm.
The other outfits are Hynniewtrep National Liberation Council (Meghalaya), Kamatapur Liberation Organization, National Liberation Front of Tripura, National Democratic Front of Bodoland (Songbijit faction) and the coordination committee of six Manipur based armed groups.


Latest News from State News Desk