Assam: Counting begins for 126 seats

Counting of votes for 126 Assembly constituencies in Assam today began in 51 counting centres across the state amidst tight security.

Counting began at 8 am to decide the fate of 1064 candidates in 51 counting centres comprising 143 counting halls and 1,771 counting tables.

The Election Commission of India has appointed 126 observers to oversee the counting and the entire process will be videographed.

A three-tier security ring has been deployed for the counting with the first ring of armed CRPF personnel around the counting hall, the second layer manned by armed state police and the final ring comprising the district police
around the 100-metre periphery of the centre.

Prohibitory orders will be in force within 100 metre periphery of the counting centre.

Counting began first with the postal ballots and EVMs will be taken after that.

Among the 1064 candidates, Congress contested in 122 constituencies, BJP in 89 and its alliance partners AGP in 30 and BPF in 13, AIUDF in 74, while the remaining are from CPI , CPM, CPI(ML)(L), unrecognised parties and Independents.  

West Bengal: Counting begins for 294 Assembly seats

 Counting of votes for the 294 seats of West Bengal Assembly began today across 90 venues spread all over the state.

A team of 20,000 personnel from the state and central government has been deployed to count votes in 394 counting halls which are being guarded by 78 companies of central

Elections in the state were held in six-phases beginning from April 4 with 1961 candidates including 198 women in the fray.

The alliance of Left parties and Congress are throwing a major challenge to the ruling Trinamool Congress government.

Despite being on the backfoot because of the Saradha chit fund scam and the Narada sting operation, several exit polls have predicted that Mamata Banerjee will return to power.

A tight three-tier security layer has been laid out during the counting process with Sec 144 being imposed on a 100 metre radius of counting venues. The innermost security layer is being manned by central forces and state police personnel is not allowed to enter the counting hall.

Only authorised personnel are allowed to enter the venue while only the observers have been given the liberty to carry mobile phones with them. Each of the 294 constituencies has one counting observer to monitor the entire process.

Additionally, a videographer is also documenting the counting in all centres.

Tamil Nadu: Counting begins for 232 seats

Counting of votes for the 232 Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu, where polling was held non May 16 to decide the fate of over 3,700 candidates, including Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa and DMK chief M Karunanidhi, commenced this morning.

Besides Jayalalithaa and Karunanidhi, the electoral field also has two other Chief Ministerial candidates – actor-turned politician Vijayakant of DMDK-PWF-TMC combine and PMK's Anbumani Ramadoss.

Counting is progressing in 68 centres across the state involving around 13,000 personnel.

Election Commission has put in place arrangements to ensure that the counting progresses smoothly as the city and its neighbourhood witnessed heavy rain over the last few days.

Election to the Aravakurichi and Thanjavur segments has been postponed to May 23 following complaints of voters being bribed.  

Kerala: Counting of votes begins

Thiruvananthapuram: Counting of votes began in Kerala today morning to elect a new 140-member assembly.

The process will start with the over one lakh postal ballots cast in the May 16 election. A total of 1,203 contestants, including 109 women, are in the fray.

Most exit polls have predicted a victory for the Left over the Congress-led United Democratic Front. The BJP is hoping to enter the Kerala assembly for the first time.

Puducherry: Counting of votes begins

Counting of votes cast to pick a 30-member Puducherry assembly started today morning, officials said.

The counting began at 8 am. in the union territory. Voting took place on May 16 along with Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

The main fight is between the Congress-DMK combine and the ruling All India NR Congress (AINRC). The AIADMK - the ruling party in Tamil Nadu - contested on its own.

Latest News from State News Desk