Women voters on Sunday outnumbered men in the fourth phase of the assembly elections in Jharkhand.

"The highest polling was reported from Chankayari with 71.28 percent, followed by 70.2 percent in Madhupur. Polling was by and large peaceful. The turnout in Maoist-affected areas was more than 60 percent," a poll official said.

Women voters scored over the male voters."In the fourth phase, women's turnout was around two percent more than male voters," an Election Commission official said.

Balloting for 15 of the 81 assembly constituencies began at 7 am While voting for 13 seats ended at 3 p.m., it continued in Bokaro and Dhanbad till 5 p.m.

Voting took place at 5,482 booths, including 36 auxiliary ones.As many as 716 booths were declared 'very sensitive' and 2,007 declared 'sensitive'.

The Election Commission declared 183 polling stations as model polling stations. Webcasting facility was available in 335 polling stations and 27,410 polling personnel were deployed in the fourth phase.

A total of 43,48,709 voters, including 20,03,516 females, were eligible to elect their representatives.The fate of 217 candidates, including 16 females, was sealed in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) by the end of balloting for the day.

Former chief minister Babulal Marandi contested from Giridih constituency.Ministers Mannan Mallik of the Congress, Haji Hussain Ansari of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Suresh Paswan of the Rashtriya Janata Dal were among the other prominent candidates in this phase.

In the 2005 assembly polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party and its then alliance partner Janata Dal-United won seven of these 15 seats together. The JMM won four seats.

Voting ends in Jammu and Kashmir's fourth phase

Voting ended peacefully Sunday in the fourth phase of the assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir, officials said. Over 50 percent turnout was recorded in the 18 constituencies when balloting ended at 4 pm, an official said.

Authorities said the poll process ended peacefully without any incident of separatist violence. In Amira Kadal constituency in Srinagar district, witnesses accused Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Hina Bhat of misbehaving with a polling officer inside a poll station.

Angry workers of the National Conference started shouting slogans against Bhat and the BJP after news of the incident spread in the area.

Additional security was rushed to escort the BJP candidate out of the polling station as a large number of agitating National Conference supporters gathered there.

As many as 440 companies of paramilitary forces were deployed Sunday across the constituencies that went to the polls, in addition to state police personnel.

Some high profile candidates were Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, former chief minister Mufti Muhammad Sayeed, and ministers Ali Muhammad Sagar, G.A. Mir and Peerzada Sayeed.

Outgoing Speaker Mubarak Gul also contested from Idgah constituency in Srinagar that went to the polls Sunday.

The fifth and final phase of the elections will be held Dec 20. Votes will be counted Dec 23.

Latest News from State News Desk