New Delhi: Samajwadi Party and BJP appeared to take early leads in Uttar Pradesh where counting of votes began after a seven-phased elections concluded on Saturday.

Early trends for 60 seats showed the Mulayam Singh Yadav-led SP leading on 22 seats while the BJP was ahead in 20 seats.

The ruling BSP, which had 206 seats in the 403 strong Assembly in 2007 polls, was ahead in only five seats while Congress was leading in eight seats.

In Punjab where trends were available for 16 seats, Congress was leading in 11 seats while ruling Akali Dal-BJP combine was ahead in four seats. Punjab has a 117 seat Assembly.

Ruling BJP was ahead in six seats in Uttarakhand with Congress close behind in five seats. The trends were available for 11 out of 70 seats.

In 60-member Manipur Assembly, trends were available for four seats with Congress leading in all of them.