Injury-prone right arm bowler Pattinson, who will play his first Test since March last year, joins Josh Hazlewood and Peter Siddle in the pace attack at Bellerive Oval in Hobart, where the three-match series starts tomorrow.
Starc will miss the series after sustaining an ankle injury during the recent 2-0 win over New Zealand, further depleting Australia's pace bowling stocks after the retirements of Mitchell Johnson and Ryan Harris.
Smith also confirmed that all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, who struggled for runs against New Zealand, would remain at number six in the batting order ahead of wicketkeeper Peter Nevill.  
Team: Steve Smith, David Warner, Joe Burns, Adam Voges,  Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill, Peter Siddle, James Pattinson, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.

Also read:
Aussies pick Hazlewood over Siddle for Test opener

Hazlewood, Starc in Australia team for second Test

Latest News from Sports News Desk