New Delhi: India slumped to their second successive overseas series whitewash after losing the fourth and final Test against Australia by a humiliating 298 runs at Adelaide oval on Saturday.

View Scorecard: India vs Australia, 4th Test

Day 4: Match report

Day 3: Match report

Day 2: Match report

Day 1: Match report

We will take corrective measures, says BCCI

Chasing 500 for a win, India were bundled out for 201 runs in 69.4 overs in their second innings.

Australia pocket the Test series 4-0 after having scored comprehensive wins in the previous three games.

India, thus, suffered their eighth straight overseas defeat after having whitewashed 0-4 in England last year.

Resuming at 166 for six, the Indians lasted almost an hour and 13-odd overs during which they added 35 runs before being bowled out for 201, handing Australia a clean sweep in the series.

The sight of Indian tailenders prompted Australian captain Michael Clarke to start the proceedings with his faster bowlers and they responded to his skipper's call by removing the two overnight batsmen Ishant Sharma (2) and Wriddhiman Saha (3) in the first three overs of the day.

Ishant was the first to depart, poking at a Ryan Harris delivery which wicketkeeper Brad Haddin had no problem in pouncing.

Next over, Saha followed suit in identical fashion, caught by Haddin off Peter Siddle.

Zaheer, unlike his previous innings in the series, seemed determined to spent time at the crease rather than flashing at every delivery.

He batted for 18 balls from which he scored 15 runs with the help of four boundaries before Ben Hilfenhaus sent him packing.

Zaheer lobbed a simple catch to David Warner in the covers while trying to pull a short delivery off Hilfenhaus.

Umesh Yadav was the last wicket to fall, handing Haddin his third catch of the morning off Nathan Lyon's bowling.

Ravichandran Ashwin remained unbeaten for India on 15 which came off 31 balls.

Off-spinner Lyon turned out to be the best bowler for Australia, finishing with impressive figures of four for 63, while Harris picked up three wickets for 41 runs.


Virender Sehwag (Capt.), Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Virat Kohli, Wriddhimaan Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Australia: Michael Clarke (Capt.), Ed Cowan, David Warner, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin (WK), Peter Siddle, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus and Nathan Lyon.