Canberra: Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd constituted his new cabinet on Monday, filling key positions, which were left out by former PM Julia Gillard’s supporters.

Chris Bowen, who has already been sworn in as Treasurer, will take the portfolio of Financial Services and Superannuation from Bill Shorten, who has a new portfolio of Education in addition to his old portfolio of Workplace Relations, reported a news agency.

Deputy Prime Minister Anthony Albanese, who is also the Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, will take on the Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy portfolio, which has been left vacated by key Gillard supporter, Stephen Conroy.

Jacinta Collins, Deputy Leader of the Government in Senate, joined the Cabinet as Minister for Mental Health and Aging. Mark Butler, who was the Minister for Mental Health and Aging in Gillard’s cabinet, will now hold the portfolios of Climate change, Environment, Heritage and Water.

Tony Burke will be the new Minister for Immigration, Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship, as well as retaining the arts portfolio. Brendan O'Connor will serve as the Minister for Employment, and for Skills and Training.

Kim Carr will join the Cabinet as the Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research and Minister for Higher Education. Julie Collins will also join the cabinet as the Minister responsible for Housing and Homelessness, Community Services, Status of Women and Indigenous Employment and Economic Development.

Catherine King will now serve in the Cabinet as the Minister for Regional Australia, Local Government and Territories. Joel Fitzgibbon will join the cabinet as Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry. Richard Marles will join as the Minister of Trade. Tanya Plibersek will add medical research to her responsibilities as Minister for Health.


Latest News from World News Desk