Australia, the eight-time winners of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, launched their campaign to reclaim the title they lost to New Zealand last year with a dominant performance against the Indian side seeking to provide exposure to several youngsters.

Blake Govers (fifth minute), Jacob Whetton (13th), Eddie Okkenden (20th), Simon Orchard (25th) and Matt Ghodes (53rd) scored for Australia, who have brought virtually their full-strength squad to prepare for the Olympic Games.

India's lone goal came through a penalty corner conversion by Rupinder Pal Singh in the eighth minute. This was Australia first outing in the round-robin league, while India prevailed 2-1 over Japan yesterday in an unimpressive campaign opener.

India paid the penalty for poor clearance and yawning gaps in their circle, which presented Australia two of their five goals.

Starting with four circle penetrations in the initial 10 minutes, the Indians failed to capitalize on an early chance when SV Sunil went too far ahead and failed to collect a fine diagonal ball from Chandana Thimmaiah in the third minute.

Latest News from Sports News Desk