"The Punjab Council of Ministers is being expanded. The three slots lying vacant for some time will be filled on Tuesday," Advisor to the Chief Minister (National Affairs and Media), Harcharan Bains, said on Sunday.

The swearing-in is scheduled at the Punjab Raj Bhawan at 10 AM on June 10," he said.

The expansion is aimed at further streamlining the functioning of the government, Bains added.

Three berths of the Shiromani Akali Dal quota are lying vacant after the resignations of Jagir Kaur, Tota Singh and Sarwan Singh Phillaur.

While Kaur and Singh are facing legal proceedings, Phillaur resigned recently after his son's name got embroiled in a drug case.

At present, the strength of the Cabinet is 15, including the Chief Minister and his Deputy Sukhbir Singh Badal.

This will be the first expansion of the Badal government since it came to power for the second time on March 3, 2012.

Earlier, SAD-BJP alliance was in power from 2007 to 2012.

Among those whose names are doing the rounds for the Cabinet berths are Hari Singh Zira (Zira MLA), Gurbachan Singh Babehali (Gurdaspur MLA), Sohan Singh Thandal (Chabbewal MLA) and Mohinder Kaur Josh (Sham Chaurasi MLA).


Latest News from Punjab News Desk