The last time this constituency elected a local was in 1980 - Asrar Ahmad of Congress.

Allahabad resident and former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi’s friend, Salim Sherwani, was elected from here in 1984 on a Congress ticket.

JD (U) leader Sharad Yadav won on a Janta Dal ticket in 1989 while BJP's Chimayanand Maharaj triumphed in 1991, riding on the Ram Mandir wave.

In 1996, Sherwani, regained the seat but on a Samajwadi Party ticket, thanks to the Muslim-Yadav vote combination, and continued his winning streak through 1998, 1999 and 2004.

But he rejoined the in 2009after he was denied a ticket by the Samajwadi Party.

With all major parties including Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, BJP and AAP fielding outsiders this time also, the trend may continue unless voters choose from among the local candidates fighting on smaller party tickets or as independents.

The Congress has not fielded a candidate here as it has an alliance with Mahan Dal, which has nominated Swami Paglanand, a former BJP man and president of Bijnore.

While the BJP has fielded former customs officer Vagish Pathak, who has business in Delhi and other cities, the BSP has nominated builder Akmar Khan alias Chaman, who claims himself
to be a resident of Sahsawan (Badaun) but has been residing in Delhi and Haryana for a long time.

AAP has fielded Hema Mehra, a resident of New Friends Colony in Delhi.

Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav has reposed faith in his nephew and sitting MP Dharmendra Yadav on Badayun seat. Dharmendra Yadav is also considered as an ‘outsider’.


Latest News from State News Desk