Mahoba assembly constituency has assumed significance as sacked Labour Minister Badshah Singh is contesting from here as Bharatiya Janata Party candidate. Singh was twice BJP MLA before being elected from Maudaha constituency in Hamirpur district on Bahujan Samaj Party ticket in 2007.

After the abolition of Maudaha seat, Singh is now contesting from Mahoba. In a changed scenario, he is facing tough fight from BSP candidate and former MP Raj Narayan Budhaulia, Congress nominee and former MLA Arimardan Singh and Samajwadi Party candidate Sidhdh Gopal Sahu.

Badshah Singh enjoys backing of Thakur votes in Mahoba and its adjoining areas. Singh, a strongman of the Bundelkhand badlands, heads the infamous ‘Insaaf Sena’ that was set up almost two decades ago to raise the demand for Bundelkhand state. BSP candidate Rakesh Kumar won the seat in 2007.