The voting for the lone Lok Sabha seat and by-elections to Hrangturzo Assembly seat in the state will be held on April 9.

Ninety and 51 polling parties left the district headquarters of Lawngtlai and Saiha respectively this morning, while no other polling party moved from other district headquarters including Aizawl, Joint Chief Electoral Officer H Lalengmawia said.

The bandh was not observed in the two districts as the NGOs did not enforce the strike there, Committee sources said.

The Committee, comprising Young Mizo Association, Mizo Hmeichhe Insuihkhawm Pawl, Mizo Upa Pawl, Mizo Zirlai Pawl and Mizo Students Union, has called the bandh in protest against the exercise of franchise by Bru voters in six refugee camps in Tripura.


Latest News from State News Desk