The new Cabinet will have 30 members but Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is likely to drop several ministers who have been accused of poor performance or corruption.

Earlier in the day, Awami League chief Hasina was unanimously elected as leader of the AL Parliamentary Party.

Veteran politicians with a good image will be inducted in view of the ‘critical political situation’, Cabinet division officials said.

The ruling Awami League clinched a landslide victory in the parliamentary election on January 5 by bagging 231 seats in the face of a boycott of the polls by the BNP-led 18-party opposition alliance.


Latest News from World News Desk