Accordingly, bank statements or passbooks of the banks are being accepted, Regional Passport Officer C Senthil Pandian said in a PIB release here.

 Earlier for provision of address proof, as per MEA rules, applicants had to submit photocopy of either water, telephone or electricity bills or one year statement of passbook of bank accounts excluding regional rural banks, among others.

The list of banks whose passbooks can be applied as address proof are Allahabad Bank, Andhra Bank, Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra, Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, Corporation Bank, Dena Bank, Indian Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Oriental Bank of Commerce, Punjab National Bank, Punjab and Sind Bank.

 The other banks are Syndicate Bank, Union Bank of India, United Bank of India, UCO Bank, Vijaya Bank, IDBI Bank, SBI, State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur, State Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Hyderabad, State Bank of Mysore, State Bank of Travancore, it said.


Latest News from India News Desk