The voter turnout this time was substantially higher over the last general elections in all the constituencies. The overall voting percentage was almost 63 percent, up by more than two percent from 60.8 percent in the 2009 Lok Sabha polls.


The third phase balloting covered all 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in Kerala, 10 each in Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra and Odisha, nine in Madhya Pradesh, seven in Delhi, six in Bihar, four in Jharkhand and one each in Chhattisgarh, Jammu, Chandigarh, Lakshwadeep and Andaman and Nicobar Island.

Chandigarh witnessed the highest voting percentage of 74. In 2009, the constituency had recorded 64 percent polling.

In Delhi, the turnout was 64 percent, up by 12 percent as against 2009 polls.

Phase 1: 85 pc voting in Tripura, 76 pc in Assam

The 10 Lok Sabha seats of Uttar Pradesh, which also went to polls in the third phase, reported a record turnout of 65 percent as compared to 51.30 percent in the 2009 polls.

Muzaffarnagar and Shamli, which witnessed communal riots last year, recorded above average turnout of 67.78 percent and 70.85 percent respectively.

Kerala, which went to polls in a single phase, recorded 73.4 percent voter turnout this time.

82 percent turnout in Nagaland, 80 percent in Manipur

Polling in Chhattisgarh, Odisha and Bihar was hit by Naxal related violence that left two CRPF personnel and one state police personnel dead. Bastar constituency in Chhattisgarh witnessed the lowest voter turnout among the 91 seats. It recorded 51.4 percent polling.

The Election Commission of India postponed polling in 22 places in Bihar that include 19 in Jamui, two in Nawada and one in Gaya. The fresh date will be announced soon.

Around 53 percent of the electorate voted in six constituencies of Bihar that include Jamui, Aurangabad, Sasaram, Gaya, Nawada and Karakat.

Odisha recorded 67 percent voting for 10 Lok Sabha and 70 assembly seats.

Voting for four Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand witnessed 58 percent turnout. In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, 50.89 percent voting was recorded here.

Madhya Pradesh, where nine seats went to polls, recorded 54.13 percent voting.

Haryana, where assembly election will be held later this year, witnessed 65 percent turnout. Polling for all 10 Lok Sabha seats was held in a single phase.

Jammu and Kashmir saw 66.29 percent voting, which is 17 percent higher than in 2009.

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands witnessed 67 percent polling. In Lakshadweep, the turnout was 71.34 percent.

The first two rounds of voting took place on Monday and Wednesday in the northeastern states.


Latest News from India News Desk