Kolkata: With West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee contesting from Bhowanipore assembly seat, the by-polls in the state have become a high profile affair. Sunday will witness the polling in the two assembly segments of Bhowanipore and Bashirhat North in West Bengal.

Banerjee, who took over the reins of the state on May 20 after her party recorded a landslide victory in the assembly polls ousting the Left Front after a long 34 years, is currently a Lok Sabha MP from Kolkata (South) constituency.

Bhowanipore assembly seat falls under Kolkata South Lok Sabha parliamentary constituency and state PWD Minister and TC leader Subrata Bakshi had vacated the seat to enable Banerjee to fulfill the constitutional requirement of entering the assembly within six months after assuming office.

CPI-M candidate Nandini Mukherjee, an academician, is facing a Herculean task against Banerjee.

Congress, Trinamool Congress (TC) ally, and BJP have not fielded any candidate against Banerjee in the seat saying it was a political gesture and had all other political parties to follow suit.

By-election would also be held in Basirhat North constituency on Sunday. The seat fell vacant after sitting CPI (M) legislator Mustafa Bin Quasem jumped to death here on May 29.

Bakshi had won Bhowanipur seat by a margin of 49,936 votes secured in the May assembly election.

Quasem had won Basirhat North seat in North 24 Paraganas district in the May election by 3,943 votes.

In Basirhat North seat CPI (M) and Trinamool Congress nominees are among the main contestants as Congress has not fielded any candidate.

There are a total 2,12,821 voters in Bhowanipore who will exercise their franchise in 262 booths in Bhowanipur. The number of voters at Basirhat North constituency is 1,93,135 and the number of booths are 239.

The state election commission sources said adequate security arrangements have been made including deployment of CRPF personnel for peaceful polling in both constituencies.