Sachin was the first-ever recipient in 2010 while Sangakkara had won the prize in 2011 and 2012, and Dhoni won it last year.

Other nominees for this year's award were England women's captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and South African pace sensation  Dale Steyn.

"First of all, I'd like to thank each and every one who has voted for me in the LG People's Choice Award. This award means a lot to me as I didn't get it only for my individual performance but because of the love and support of my fans," said Bhuvneshwar.

"Where I am today is because of my parents and coaches, and whatever they taught me in life as a person. I'd also like to thank my teammates because without their support this won't have been possible. So, thank you so much," he said.

This is the only ICC award, introduced in 2010, which is voted by fans for their favourite player. Voting had commenced on October 8 and closed on October 30.

The short-list was selected by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble, Jonathan Agnew, former England international, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former chair of the ICC Women's Committee.

Latest News from Sports News Desk