The names were sent by the government to the Raj Bhawan on Saturday seeking Governor DY Patil's approval.

The swearing-in ceremony was fixed after Patil approved the list and the decision was conveyed to the Council secretariat.

The names include five former MLAs belonging to other parties who resigned from their Assembly seats recently to express their support for the JD(U). They are Samrat Chaudhary, Ram Lakhan Ram Raman, Javed Iqbal Ansari of RJD, as well as, Vijay Mishra and Rana Gangeshwar Singh of BJP.

JD(U) sources said that the five legislators could be given Cabinet berths in the newly formed Jitan Ram Manjhi government in Bihar.

Former state JD(U) president Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh, Sanjay Kumar Singh, Ram Vachan Rai, Shiv Prasanna Yadav, Ranbir Nandan Prasad, Ramchandra Bharti and Lalan Saraf are among those chosen by the state government to be MLCs.

Lalan unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha elections from Munger this time. He was earlier a member of the Rajya Sabha. Saraf has been a close aide of former Chief Minister Nitish Kumar since the JP Movement in 1970s, while Prasad is an associate professor of geology at Patna University.

Rai is an eminent Hindi litterateur, while the rest have been active politically and socially.

The state government, under Article 171 (3 and 5) of the Constitution can exercise its powers to recommend eminent persons having special knowledge or practical experience in the fields of art, literature, science and other walks of life for nomination as MLCs.


Latest News from Bihar News Desk