Patna: A CBI court here on Friday sentenced three accused to lifetime imprisonment in connection with the murder case of JNU Students Union leader and CPI-ML (Liberation) activist Chandrashekhar Prasad, Shyam Narayan Yadav and Bhutti Miyan.

The three accused have been identified as Dhruv Kumar Jaiswal, Shekh Munna Khan and Iliyas Bari alias Mintu.

The court also slapped a fine of Rs 40,000 on each of the convict.

Chandrashekhar was murdered on March 31, 1997 in Bihar’s Siwan district for raising the issue of criminalisation of politics.

The CBI special public prosecutor Subhash Chandra Bhardwaj alleged that the incident was hatched, capital punishment must be awarded to the convicts.

Meanwhile, CPI-ML general secretary Dipankar Bhattacharya suspected some political foul play behind the murder has demanded for a fresh CBI probe into the incident. He alleged that a senior RJD leader was involved in the case.