The discussion began on a sour note as mover of the motion RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui reached the House a little late. When Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary said that the missed time would be counted in the time allotted to him, he only read his motion and did not give any speech.
Leader of Opposition Nand Kishore Yadav demanded the state government declare 24 districts of the state out of a total 38 as drought-affected areas in view of sharp fall in monsoon rain.
As per Met office, as against expected 426 mm rains in June and July, the state received only 330 mm of rainfall, he said.
Yadav sought waiving of cooperative loan of farmers due to drought like situation, free electricity supply and cash subsidy to farmers.
RJD MLA from Kisanganj, Akhtar-ul Imam raised the flood situation in Kisanganj, Araria, Purnea and Katihar and charged the state government with providing little relief to victims.
Replying to the discussion, Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh said the state government had initiated several steps to meet the challenges.
He said the government had provided eight hours of uninterrupted electricity to rural areas, diesel subsidy at the rate of 10 litre for one acre of land and given instruction to immediately change the burnt transformers.

The Minister said that Chief Minister Nitish Kumar had requested the Centre several times to take up the matter of flood with the Nepal government which released water to Bihar side causing flood every year.
RJD members first walked out of the House as the minister ignored to mention flood situation in Bhojpur district and "neglect" of flood victims in minority-dominated Kisanganj.
The BJP legislators followed them when they did not get any positive response to their demand for declaring 24 districts as drought-hit areas.
Congress' four members along with lone LJP and CPI remained seated in the House.
Birendra Singh (JD-U), Awdesh Kumar Singh (RJD), Manju Verma (JD-U), Manjit Kumar Singh (JD-U), Pawan Kumar Jaiswal and Dulal Chand Goswami (both Independents) participated in the debate.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk