Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary read out obituary references about Munde and the Bihar Legislative Council chairman Tarakant Jha among others, before leading the assembled members of the House to rise and observe a minute's silence in the memory of departed leaders.

Other distinguished lawmakers to whom the house paid its tributes are Virkeshwar Prasad Singh (MLC), Yaumana Yadav (ex-minister), Kali Ram (ex-MLA), Mahavir Chaudhary (ex-minister), Sitaram Prasad (ex-Minister), Uttam Kumar Yadav (ex-MLA) and Umadhar Prasad Singh (ex-MLA).

After paying obituaries to the departed leaders, the Speaker adjourned the House for the day.

Earlier, the copies of six legislations duly assented by the Governor were laid on the table of the House by the assembly secretary on the direction of the presiding officer.

The legislations receiving assent of the Governor in the intervening period of convening of two Assembly sessions are Bihar Appropriation Bill, 2014, Bihar Appropriation (Vote-on-Account) Bill, 2014, Bihar Fire Services Bill, 2014, Bihar State Archives Bill, 2014, Bihar Police (Amendment) Bill, 2014 and Bihar Panchayat Raj (Amendment) Bill.

Soon after convening of the five-week Budget Session, the Speaker outlined to the members the agenda of the House and urged all political parties to cooperate with him in discharge of financial and legislative business during 24 sittings till July 31.

Urging the members to engage in meaningful discussion and debate on public issues during the Budget Session, Chaudhary said that he looked up to all members to play a constructive role in the House to strengthen the democratic process to ensure that benefits of policy decisions reach every person in society.


Latest News from State News Desk