In another ruling, Patna High Court dismisses a petition by minister Vinay Bihari to keep Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary away from the trust vote.

Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi will face the trust vote on February 20.

Manjhi needs to reach to the magic figure of 117 in Bihar House whose effective strength lies at 233 at present.

Opposition BJP in Bihar has already hinted at voting in favour of embattled CM Manjhi during the February 20 confidence vote.

BJP has 87 MLAs in Bihar Legislative Assembly. With BJP in his side, Manjhi now needs to muster support of 30 more MLAs to reach the magic figure of 117.

Amid subsisting political crisis in Bihar, Assembly Speaker on Thursday recognised Janata Dal United (JD(U)) as main Opposition party and granted status of Leader of Opposition to Vijay Chaudhary.

Bihar Assembly Speaker Uday Narain Choudhary was on Wednesday authorised to decide whether JD(U) or Bjp would sit in the Opposition gallery during the confidence vote on Friday.

Bihar Legislative Assembly Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary on Wednesday to discuss seating arrangement during the February 20 confidence vote on Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi, authorised him to take relevant decision on the issue, amid walkout by BJP.

Senior JD(U) leader and former Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who has been re-elected JD(U) Legislature Party leader and has staked claim to the Chief Minister's post, had said his party prefers to sit in the Opposition when Manjhi takes the confidence vote.

Latest News from States News Desk