"The state government transferred 44 IPS officers including superintendents of police of over a dozen district in view of the Election Commission's directive," an official said.

Formally, the government said the reshuffle was routine. According to officials, the poll panel has also asked the state government to remove three IAS officers posted as district magistrates.

A total of 6,68,26,658 voters, which includes male, female and also third gender, would be eligible to exercise their franchise in the coming election to Bihar Assembly, according to the final voters list published by Election Commission today.

As per the final list prepared under guidance of Election Commission of India today, the number of male voters are 3,56,46,870, a statement from Chief Electoral Officer, Bihar said here.
The number of female voters are 3,11,77,619, it said. There are a total of 2169 third gender voters who would cast vote in the coming Assembly poll, it added.
The statement said that anybody whose name does not find place in the final list could file application to electoral registration officer. Though a date for the poll was yet to be announced, the state is expected to go for election in September-October.
There are 243 Assembly constituencies in Bihar that would see voting. The term of the present Assembly ends on November 29, 2015.

Latest News from States News Desk