Patna: Bihar Governor Devanand Konwar in his capacity as the Chancellor of the state universities appointed eight vice chancellors (VCs) of various universities on Saturday.
A notification was issued by Raj Bhawan appointing the eight vice-chancellors of different universities after consultation with the state government, sources in it said.

Shambhu Nath Singh has been appointed as the vice-chancellor of Patna Universit, while Arun Kumar has been made the Magadh University VC.

Md Samsuzoha has been appointed a the Mazhrul Haque Arabic and Persian University VC and Ram Vinod Sinha has been made the vice-chancellor of B N Mandal University, Madhepura.

Vimal Kumar and Kumaresh Prasad Singh have been appointed VCs of Jai Prakash University, Chapra and B R Ambedkar University, Muzaffarpur respectively.

Arvind Pandey and Shiv Shankar Singh have been made the VCs of Kameshwar Singh Sanskrit University, Darbhanga and Veer Kunwar Singh University, Ara respectively. Six VCs - Shambhunath Singh, Vimal Kumar, Ram Vinod Singh, Md. Samsuzoha and Arun Kumar have retained their posts in the fresh appointment two months after they had lost their jobs after Patna high court quashed their appointments on the ground that it was not done in consultation with the state government under provisions of Bihar State Universities Act of 1976 and Patna University Act of 1976.

The court had directed the chancellor to make fresh appointments within 30 days in consultation with the state government as required under the acts.


Latest News from Bihar News desk