After the chief minister donated his one month's salary of Rs one lakh for the quake victims in the state on Thursday, the contributions have been pouring in regularly.

Road Construction Minister Rajeev Ranjan Singh Lallan and his ministerial colleague in Mines and Mineral Ram Lakhan Ram Raman on Saturday handed over a cheque of Rs 1.5 lakh each to the chief minister, an official statement said.

State Congress President Ashok Choudhary, MLC, and Congress Legislature party leader Sadanand Singh contributed Rs 51,000 each to the fund, it said.

Congress Legislators Madan Mohan Jha, Dilip Chaudhary, Ajeet Sharma, Mohammd Javed, and Tauseef Alam also gave Rs 51,000 each to the Chief Minister Relief Fund, the statement said.

JD(U) state treasurer and MLC Ranbir Nandan presented a cheque of Rs 1.41 lakh to the fund.

Ruling JD(U) Legislators Haroon Rasheed, Sanjay Kumar and Upendra Prasad also contributed handsomely.

Secretary to the chief minister and in-charge of relief fund Chanchal Kumar said that in a short span of two days contributions had crossed Rs two crore.

He said a sum of Rs 10 crore had already been given to state Disaster Management department for distribution of relief.

Latest News from State News Desk