Later, Governor Keshri Nath Tripathi invited Nitish Kumar to form the next government, a party spokesperson said.

"Governor Tripathi has invited Nitish Kumar to form the next government after he met him at Raj Bhavan and formally staked claim," Janata Dal-United spokesperson Neeraj Kumar said.

READ MORE: Nitish Kumar sorry for quitting, says won't repeat it

Manjhi claimed he as well as some legislators supporting him had received threats to their lives.

Nitish Kumar Friday publicly apologised to the people for his "mistake" for having resigned as chief minister last year.

"I admit that I made a mistake by resigning as chief minister. I publicly apologise for it to the people of Bihar. Please forgive me, as I will not repeat my mistake," Nitish Kumar said at a press conference here.

MUST READ: BJP does not 'repent' backing Manjhi: Sushil Modi

Nitish Kumar saying sorry was akin to Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal's apology for resigning as the Delhi chief minister after 49 days in power last year. The AAP made a stunning comeback in the national capital, winning 67 of the 70 assembly seats.

Nitish Kumar apologised twice during his half-an-hour address to the media here. He made it clear that he will not take any such emotional decision in the future.

Manjhi on Friday resigned just ahead of a confidence motion in the assembly.


"I have submitted my resignation letter to the governor. I should have quit before," said Manjhi soon after he met Tripathi on Friday.

Nitish Kumar described Manjhi's sudden decision to quit as chief minister just ahead of the floor test as a "unique situation".

"There was high-voltage drama. This is perhaps happening for the first time. The governor was to address the joint session. Half an hour before that, the chief minister resigned," Nitish Kumar told reporters.

Manjhi was picked by the former chief minister as his replacement when he quit last year after the JD-U's rout in the Lok Sabha polls.

In the 243-member assembly, the JD-U has 115 legislators - most of whom are with Nitish Kumar. The party has the support of 24 Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) legislators, five Congress legislators, two independents and a Communist Party of India legislator.

The BJP has 88 legislators and is supported by three Independents.

Latest News from States News Desk