"I have decided to immolate myself in the party office on Sunday if I am denied the ticket," Dinesh, the RJD legislator from Jagdishpur assembly constituency in Bhojpur district, told the media.

Dinesh said he began protest following reports that RJD chief Lalu Prasad  would field Bhagwan Singh Kushwaha, whom he defeated in the 2010 assembly polls, in the Jagdishpur constituency.

"My apprehension proved right as local media on Saturday reported that I would be denied ticket and Lalu Prasad has given party symbol to Kushwaha to contest polls," he said.

The RJD is likely to release its first list of candidates on September 19. Bihar will hold five-phase elections between October 12 to November 5 to elect the 243-member assembly. Counting of votes will take place on November 8.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk